Oxford American 2003 Southern Sampler

Tracks: 23, total time: 68:31, year: 2003, genre: Mixed Bag

Sampler CD included with Oxford American magazine (ISSN 1074-4525), 6th Annual Music Issue (#45, 2003-04). YEAR: 2003

S/N Time Song Title
1. 2:44 Johnny Darrell / Why You Been Gone So Long [1969]
(Mickey Newberry)
Johnny Darrell: vocal
Other personnel unknown.
From the album “Singin’ It Lonesome: The Very Best of Johnny Darrell, 1965-1970” (Raven Records, 2000); originally released on “Why You Been Gone So Long” (United Artists, 1969).
2. 3:24 Swamp Dogg / Total Destruction to Your Mind [1996]
(Jerry Williams, Jr.)
Jerry Williams, Jr.: piano, vocal
Jesse “Beaver” Carr: guitar
Paul “Berry” Hornsby: organ, piano
Robert “Pop” Popwell: bass
Johnny “Duck” Sundlin: drums
Jackie Avery Singers: background vocals
From the album “The Excellent Sides of Swamp Dogg, Vol. 1” (S.D.E.G. Records, 1996-11-11).
3. 4:01 The Del McCoury Band / 1952 Vincent Black Lightning [2001]
(Richard John Thompson)
Del McCoury: guitar, vocal
Jason Carter: fiddle, vocal
Ronnie McCoury: mandolin, vocal
Rob McCoury: banjo
Mike Bub: bass, vocal
From the album “Del and the Boys” (Ceili/Hollywood, 2001-07-10).
4. 2:24 Ann Savoy & Linda Ronstadt / La Chanson d’une Fille de Quinze Ans (Song of a Fifteen Year Old Girl) [2002]
(trad., arr. Marc Savoy/Ann Savoy)
Richard Thompson: lead guitar
Ann Savoy: vocal, guitar
Linda Ronstadt: harmony vocal
Dirk Powell: fiddle, bass
Michael Burch: drums
Christine Balfa: triangle
From the V/A compilation “Evangeline Made: A Tribute to Cajun Music” (Vanguard, 2002-03-05).
5. 3:59 King Pleasure / Swan Blues [1962]
(Richard Carpenter/King Pleasure)
King Pleasure [Clarence Beeks]: vocal
Seldon Powell: tenor sax
Recorded 1962-09-05.
From the album “Moody’s Mood for Love” (United Artists LP, 1962; Blue Note CD, 1992).
6. 3:23 The Blind Boys of Alabama / Run On for a Long Time [2000]
(trad., arr. The Blind Boys of Alabama/John Chelew/Chris Goldsmith)
George Scott: lead vocal
Clarence Fountain, Jimmy Carter, Joey Williams: vocals
Danny Thompson: double bass
Michael Jerome: drums
Recorded 2000-03-21/24.
From the album “Spirit of the Century” (Real World, 2001-04-21).
7. 3:03 My Morning Jacket / Evelyn Is Not Real [1999]
(Jim James)
Perfomers: Jim James (guitar, vocal); Johnny Quaid; Two Tone Tommy; J. Glenn (drums).
From the album “The Tennessee Fire” (Darla, 1999-07-13).
8. 2:36 Nellie Lutcher / Lake Charles Boogie [1947]
(Nellie Lutcher)
Nellie Lutcher: piano, vocal
Irving Ashby: guitar
Bill Hadnott: bass
Big Sid Catlett: drums
From the album “The Best of Nellie Lutcher” (Capitol, 1995-10-31); originally released as Capitol C 15148-B (1947).
9. 1:51 The Collins Kids / Hot Rod [1958]
(Larry Collins/Lorrie Collins/Lawrence Collins/Hazel Collins)
Larry Collins: guitar, vocal
Lorrie Collins: vocal
From the album “Rocking’est” (Bear Family, 1998-02-11); originally released on “Introducing Larry and Lorrie” (Columbia, 1958).
10. 3:20 Esther Phillips / No Headstone on My Grave [1964]
(Charlie Rich)
Esther Phillips [Esther Mae Jones]: vocal
The Anita Kerr Singers: backing vocals
Arranged & conducted by Cliff Parman.
From the album “The Best of Esther Phillips, 1962-1970” (Rhino, 1997-03-04); originally(?) released on Atlantic 45rpm 2229 (1964).
11. 3:08 The Gourds / El Paso [1999]
(K. Russell)
Max Johnson: banjo, fiddle, mandolin, guitars, vocal
Claude Bernard: guitar, accordion, Wurlitzer, vocal
Kev “Big Daddy” Russell: guitars, mandolin, ukulele, vocal
Jon Dee Graham: lap steel guitar
Jimmy Smith: bass, guitar, percussion, vocal
Keith Langford: percussion, drums
Recorded 1999-11/12.
A previously unreleased mix; original version from the album “Bolsa de Agua” (2000-09-26).
12. 4:04 Marshall Chapman / Leaving Loachapoka [1996]
(Marshall Chapman)
Marshall Chapman: vocal, guitar
Tim Krekel: lead guitar
Kenny Vaughan: lead guitar, autoharp, ukulele
Jackie Street: bass
Andy Peake: drums
Mike Lawler: atmospheric touches
Ashley Cleveland: vocal
A previously unreleasededited version; original version from the album “Love Slave” (Margitaville/Polygram, 1996-09-09).
13. 2:40 Little Milton / Grits Ain’t Groceries [1968]
(Titus Turner)
Little Milton Campbell: lead vocal, lead guitar
Cash McCall: guitar
Donny Hathaway: keyboards
Phil Upchurch: bass
Al Duncan: drums
Unknown trumpet, sax.
From the album “Welcome to the Club: The Essential Chess Recordings” (MCA/Chess, 1994); originally relased on Checker single 1212 (1968).
14. 2:31 Memphis Minnie / Killer Diller Blues [1946]
(Ernest Lawlars)
Memphis Minnie [Lizzie Douglas]: vocal, guitar
Recorded 1946-09-20 (matrix cco4626).
From the album “Queen of the Blues” (Columbia/Legacy, 1997-10-07); originally released on Columbia 78rpm 37977 (1946/1947?).
15. 3:18 R.L. Burnside / Miss Maybelle [2000]
(R.L. Burnside)
R.L. Burnside: vocal
Smokey Hormel, Rick Holmstrom: guitars
Andy Kaulkin: piano
Jeff Turmes: bass
Steve Mugallian: drums
DJ Swamp: scratching
From the album “I Wish I Was in Heaven Sitting Down” (Fat Possum, 2000-10-24).
16. 3:01 Blind Willie Johnson / God Moves on the Water [1929]
(William Johnson)
Recorded New Orleans US-LA, 1929-12-11 (matrix w149599=1).
From the album “Dark Was the Night” (Columbia/Legacy 1998-06-30); originally released in 1930 on 78rpm as Columbia 14520D & Vocalion 3051.
17. 2:30 P.J. Proby / Niki Hoeky [1967]
(James Henry Ford/Lolly Vegas/Pat Vegas)
P.J. Proby: vocal
Other personnel unknown.
From the album “Enigma” (Liberty LRP-3497/LST-7497, 1967).
18. 2:35 The Delmore Brothers / See That Coon in the Tree [1940]
(Alton Delmore)
Alton Delmore, Rabon Delmore: vocals, guitars
Recorded 1940-01 (matrix 047558).
From the album “Brown’s Ferry Blues” (County Records, 1995); originally released as Bluebird 8418 (1940?).
19. 2:09 The Yo-Yo’s / Leaning on You [1966]
(Joe South)
Rusty Taylor, Denny Morgan: vocals
Ted Marshall: guitar
Rich Allen: organ
Bill Vance: bass
Ray Doty: drums
From the V/A compilation “A History of Garage & Frat Bands in Memphis 1960-1975, Vol. 1” (Shangri-La, 2001-10-02); originally released as a Goldwax single (1966.Q2).
20. 3:13 Chris Bell / You and Your Sister [1978]
(Chris Bell)
Chris Bell: vocal, guitar
Alex Chilton: harmony vocal
From the album “I Am the Cosmos” (Rykodisc, 1992-02-21); originally released as a single in 1978.
21. 1:58 Willie Nelson / Columbia Stockade Blues [1966]
(Jimmie Davis/Eva Sargent)
Willie Nelson: vocal
Wade Ray: fiddle
Leon Rhodes: lead guitar
Cal Smith: rhythm guitar
Buddy Charlton: steel guitar
Hargus “Pig” Robbins: piano
James Wilkerson: bass, vibes
Jack Drake: bass
Jack Greene: drums
From the album “Country Favorites: Willie Nelson Style” (RCA LPM/LSP-3528 [1966]; Buddha CD 99698 [2000]).
22. 3:08 Marilyn Monroe & Jane Russell / A Little Girl from Little Rock [1953]
(Leo Robin/Jule Styne)
Marilyn Monroe, Jane Russell: vocals
From the album “The Very Best of Marilyn Monroe” (Stardust, 1999/2000?); originally from the movie “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes” (Howard Hawkes, 20th Century Fox, 1953).
23. 3:38 Will Kimbrough / Goodnight Moon [1999]
(Will Kimbrough/Gwil Owen)
Will Kimbrough: vocal, guitar, organ
Dennis Kronin: trumpet
Dave Jacques: tuba, euphonium, alto horn
David Gehrke: snare drum
Recorded 1999.
From the album “This” (Waxy Silver, 2000-08-22).